My encounter with Tony Horton (creator of P90X!)

Hey all!

This Saturday Jesse and I took the day and went up to Long Island to meet, workout with and learn from the awesome Tony Horton. We were so excited and to top it off, it was day 90 for Jesse! How cool to finish your 90 day program with the actual instructor! We woke up nice and early, 4:30am so that we wouldn’t have to spend the night anywhere. The meeting went from 9-5. It was great!

When we got there we really weren’t sure what to expect. I mean, we did know that we were gonna have 2 workouts, one being yoga, lunch and 2 talks. What we didn’t know was how hard the workouts were gonna be, how long they were, or what he was gonna talk about. We went with an open mind and open heart ; at the end we were more than happy with the outcome.

The morning started right off with the first workout. Not sure if you know this or not, but there is a new Tony Horton workout coming to Beachbody in the summer called, P90X:MC2. Our workout we did that morning was a combination of  moves going into the new program and others from his U-C-L-A  (upper-cardio-middle-lower) workout that he made for Usher and others. Man, it was killer! I was pretty good at keeping up, but he through some things at us that I was definitely not ready for 🙂 I did however get the chance to write down all the moves… now only if I could read my handwriting.

After the first workout (about 1 hr, 5 min), we got to sit down and take-in Tony’s vast knowledge on working out and eating right; he called it Tony Horton’s 11 Laws of Health & Fitness. He basically gave us a wonderful blueprint to being healthy. Here are his 11 laws. I will expand on them (probably one/week) over the next 11 weeks:

Tony Horton’s 11 Laws of Health & Fitness:

  1. Variety
  2. Consistency
  3. Intensity
  4. Purpose
  5. Reality
  6. Sport
  7. The Plan
  8. Stress & Sleep
  9. Love It
  10. Flexibility
  11. Food & Supplement

After the Health & Fitness talk, we ate lunch and then I got a little nap 🙂 Leave to me to be able to pass out for 15 mins on a yoga mat in the middle of a gym floor. Anyway, we then were blessed with more of Tony’s brains and jokes for another hour and half and man, is he funny. Not only did he get everyone there laughing throughout all his talks, but he even had an audience of grown adults making crazy beaver/bunny like faces. It was ridiculously funny. One thing you can catch on very quickly when meeting Mr. Horton is that he is super down to earth. I think that is why his program is so successful. People don’t mind being around his day after day. Even if they can’t stand him, he feels like that uncle you don’t like, but you still stick around.

Then came YOGA!!!! Jesse, my husband, was dreading this point. I however, was pretty excited. Yoga is so awesome, when taught by good instructors. And IT IS NOT EASY!! Hence the reason why Jesse doesn’t like it 🙂 He gave us a good 1 hr 20 min yoga session. I wish I would have taped it so that I could do the workout at home. You can tell he has a passion for it. Maybe not for yoga itself, but for what yoga does for people. As seen above “flexibilty” is the 10th law on his list. He takes it very seriously and credits his youth (he is actually in his 50’s) to his yoga experience. He is also the only instructor who makes you laugh while trying to hold half moon, which is pretty cruel.

The best part was after yoga… picture time!!! NO ONE was going to leave without a picture with Tony and he knew that. They set aside a time for EVERYONE to get their photo with him which was very nice. I also got my hat signed 🙂 thanks to the guy who had a silver sharpie marker… talking about being prepared.

I would highly recommend meeting Mr. Tony Horton when you get the chance. It is absolutely worth it!! I will post up more of the info he gave us in the weeks coming so stay tuned, subscribe to my page & tell others about it too.

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you that Tony’s first ever published book is being released on Dec. 21st. You can get it reserved on Amazon.com and is called Bring It. How appropriate.

Leave a Reply

