Running with no weight loss.

If your anything like myself and a bunch of other runners I have to talked to, you might be wondering how the heck you’ve been running for 1 month, 6 months or even a year without getting much results. Just the other day I had someone write to me that the only thing they have noticed after training for a half marathon is that they can now run longer and still be fat!

I had to chuckle when I read this because I have learned, yes learned how to run last year. I ran my first 5K, 5 miler and Half Marathon last year. It was so frustrating though. I really thought that training for the Half would get me down to my goal weight of 130 losing 20 lbs of fat. Not one pound was lost during my training.

There is one thing I have found; if I want get something accomplished, find someone who has succeeded at it already and do what they did. So I did what I do best and started talking to people. Which is when I ran into (no pun intended) one of my husband’s old college friends, L.T. She had gotten into running last year and ran her first half and full marathon recently. Before then, she had a similar “before” picture as mine with similar weight loss goals. She also said that she had lost NO weight during her training for the half and only a little for the full marathon. After the full marathon, however, she was introduced to Beachbody and started the P90X system along with replacing a meal a day with Shakeology. With completing the program, she discovered the BEST body of her life, looking and feeling better than ever before. She looked AMAZING…and of course, I was a little jealous!

I wanted what she had. So, I really looked into it. After seeing her results first hand and seeing how it matched up with all the other results you see on the late night informercials, I realized the only thing keeping me back was commitment, but that’s another story. I digress.

What the moral of the story is: Cardio training alone will not “transform” your body! A good workout program will incorporate a couple things. Here is a small list of what to look for when beginning a program:

  • Weight training. This is no secret, MUSCLE BURNS FAT! Whether your using your body weight, bands or free weights, it doesn’t matter as long as you are challenging those muscles with resistance.
  • Intensity. You need to have something that will make you work hard. It needs to be a challenge and needs to give you room for growth (ie: adding weight, moving faster.) Hitting a certain level of intensity will not only help you burn more calories during your workout, but it will increase the calories burned after a w/o.
  • Variety. It is super easy to get bored with a workout if you are doing it 3-6 per week every week. Make sure your program has some changes to it. Also, your muscles will get very used to doing the same thing over and over again (ie. running.)
  • Resources/ Motivation. Make sure you have a go to person to ask questions. Buying a workout program without good resources is like doing an online college class, but not having a teacher to instruct it. Beachbody gives the option of having a FREE coach (hint hint: that’s me ) e to go to whenever you have a question like, “What should I do when I miss a workout?”, “How do I combine Brazil Butt Lift with Insanity to jazz up my results?”, “Can I do P90X and train for a marathon?” or “I’ve done the Slim in 6 program, what’s next?”.  They also have a huge online community (for free) where you can track your results, log-in your workouts & even win free stuff.

If you have any questions at all, please comment below and I’ll be sure to answer. Thanks again for reading and don’t be afraid to subscribe to this blog on the right 🙂

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

